Ballon D’Or list so far

Must Read

Manchester City’s Sergio Aguero and Kevin de Bruyne are contenders, as are Liverpool keeper Alisson and forwards Sadio Mane and Roberto Firmino. Wales forward Gareth Bale and England striker Harry Kane are among the nominees for the 2018 Ballon d’Or.

Paul Pogba, of Manchester United, and Chelsea pair Eden Hazard and N’Golo Kante are also on the 30-man list, being revealed five players at a time. The Ballon d’Or is given to the best player of the year.

A ceremony to announce the winner of the prestigious award, first presented in 1956, will take place in Paris on 3 December, when a women’s award will also be presented for the first time. Portugal forward Cristiano Ronaldo, who joined Juventus from Real Madrid in the summer, won last year’s Ballon d’Or and is again a contender.

Tottenham’s Kane, 25, who is shortlisted alongside team-mate Hugo Lloris, helped England reach the semi-finals of the World Cup in Russia, while 29-year-old Bale scored twice for Real Madrid in the Champions League win over Liverpool.

Ballon D'Or

The list so far:

2018 Ballon d’Or nominees
Position Country Club
Sergio Aguero Forward Argentina Manchester City
Alisson Goalkeeper Brazil Liverpool
Gareth Bale Forward Wales Real Madrid
Karim Benzema Forward France Real Madrid
Kevin de Bruyne Midfielder Belgium Manchester City
Edinson Cavani Forward Uruguay Paris St-Germain
Thibaut Courtois Goalkeeper Belgium Real Madrid
Roberto Firmino Forward Brazil Liverpool
Diego Godin Defender Uruguay Atletico Madrid
Antoine Griezmann Forward France Atletico Madrid
Eden Hazard Forward Belgium Chelsea
Isco Midfielder Spain Real Madrid
Harry Kane Forward England Tottenham
N’Golo Kante Midfielder France Chelsea
Hugo Lloris Goalkeeper France Tottenham
Mario Mandzukic Forward Croatia Juventus
Sadio Mane Forward Senegal Liverpool
Marcelo Defender Brazil Real Madrid
Kylian Mbappe Forward France Paris St-Germain
Lionel Messi Forward Argentina Barcelona
Luka Modric Midfielder Croatia Real Madrid
Neymar Forward Brazil Paris St-Germain
Jan Oblak Goalkeeper Poland Atletico Madrid
Cristiano Ronaldo Forward Portugal Juventus
Paul Pogba Midfielder France Manchester United

What is the Ballon d’Or?

The Ballon d’Or has been awarded by France Football every year since 1956, with former England international Sir Stanley Matthews the first winner.

The list is compiled by the editorial staff of the French publication, with the winner voted for by journalists from around the world, with one representative per nation.

For six years it combined with world football’s governing body to become the Fifa Ballon d’Or. However, Fifa ended its association with the award in September 2016.

At Fifa’s awards in September, Croatia and Real Madrid midfielder Luka Modric was named the world’s best male player, while Brazil and Orlando Pride forward Marta won the best female player award.

Ballon d’Or winners: Ronaldo & Messi dominate since 2008
2008 Cristiano Ronaldo Lionel Messi Fernando Torres
2009 Lionel Messi Cristiano Ronaldo Xavi
2010 Lionel Messi Andres Iniesta Xavi
2011 Lionel Messi Cristiano Ronaldo Xavi
2012 Lionel Messi Cristiano Ronaldo Andres Iniesta
2013 Cristiano Ronaldo Lionel Messi Franck Ribery
2014 Cristiano Ronaldo Lionel Messi Manuel Neuer
2015 Lionel Messi Cristiano Ronaldo Neymar
2016 Cristiano Ronaldo Lionel Messi Antoine Griezmann
2017 Cristiano Ronaldo Lionel Messi Neymar
- Advertisement -
- Advertisement -

Latest News

Man City beat Lampard’s Everton in a controversial 1 – 0 win

Man City beat Lampard's Everton in a controversial 1 - 0 win. Phil Foden's late winner restored Manchester City's...
- Advertisement -

More Articles Like This

- Advertisement -